Who We Are

The Forest Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that works to educate all Californians about the benefits of sustainable forestry. Our mission is to foster public understanding of forest ecosystems in California by providing balanced, science-based information on environmental, economic, and societal uses of forest resources for present and succeeding generations.

Our Board is made up of educators, foresters, environmental lawyers, bankers and community citizens:

Board Members

Brenda Washington Davis, Chairperson / The Brenda Davis Law Group

Arne Hultgren, Vice-Chairperson / Land Vest (Ret.)

Mark Luster, Past Chairperson / Sierra Pacific Industries

Paul Violett, Secretary / Soper-Wheeler Company

Rebecca Fabisch Miller, Treasurer / Umpqua Bank

Phil Battaglia / W. M. Beaty & Associates

Lloyd Bradshaw / Hearst Forests, LLC

Paul Chapman / Campbell Global

John Helms / UC Berkeley, College of Natural Resources (Ret.)

Mike Jani / Mendocino Redwood Company

Gary Rynearson / Green Diamond Resource Company

Joshua Strauss / Blue Source

Richard Engel / UC Davis

Chris Quirmbach / Timber Products Company

Rich Gordon, Advisory Board Member / California Forestry Association

Staff Members

Jann Taber Executive Director

Tanya Wermund Program/Marketing Coordinator

More Information

Learn more about The Forest Foundation by visiting calforestfoundation.org.